Talk on Open Source development for college students, by a college student

I gave a 1 hour talk on open source development at my school, National University of Singapore, on Friday evening 6.30pm, thanks to an invitation from one of my professors, Prof Damith. There were about 15-20 students in the audience, most new to OSS, while there were a handful who already worked on OSS projects, such as Linux and Bazaar. Bits of my Mozilla open source experience went in as well.

I accepted the invitation to give a talk because I love to teach anyone who is willing to learn. It perks me up when I see fellow students learning from me, eventually becoming better than me in their own areas of OSS development. It is one of the best feelings anyone can experience. (yeah, maybe on par with, but probably not surpassing the feeling of being in love)

The slides have been uploaded. I hope the slides would prove useful to anyone looking to work on OSS, please let me know if I can help students in any way, my summer isn’t fully booked yet, and I can head anywhere around the world for discussions / talks.🙂

(WordPress.com prevents embedding of Google Presentation slides, so I did a link instead.)

4 thoughts on “Talk on Open Source development for college students, by a college student

  1. Pingback: Talk on Open Source development for college students, by a college … | Open Hacking

  2. @Tomer: Either .pptx -> .ppt conversion error, or Google Presentations error when I uploaded a .ppt file. Either way, I’ve corrected it.

    Thanks for pointing it out!🙂

Leave a Reply

